Forums

Help › Forums

Anyone using Titleist 718 AP2 Irons?

Wed, Jul 22 2020 1:18 AM (11 replies)
  • PAGES
  • beerstine
    664 Posts
    Mon, Jul 6 2020 3:51 AM

I'm fairly new to the game (Level 46) and still using the starter irons.  There's currently a good bundle deal going for Steam users on the Titleist irons set that normally costs a premium in the pro shop.  I haven't seen much feedback from people actually using them in the forums to know if they're a decent choice for someone who isn't at a level to buy the high end clubs or if they'll be obsolete when I do make it to the higher levels.

I've seen a lot of advice from people to wait for the Level 59 Ping irons with the high trajectory, but the forgiveness rating bothers me a bit as I'm not a particularly good ding hitter (usually to the left of the ding and sometimes actually do better with a meter around 4). I haven't hit particularly well with other Ping clubs I've rented.  

Hope someone here can give me some feedback in the next couple of days before the deal goes away.

• TimK560
    45 Posts
    Mon, Jul 6 2020 4:49 AM

When I started which was in April of this year. I few upper players in my CC suggested this. I had the same issues with what to play. This is what they told me. Get a decent driver first. So I got the titliest driver, which went about 280 with the right ball and it was very forgiving. At least this way you are in the holes enough as to where you are not hitting three woods and 3 irons from 200 yards. 

Then get good wedges, which I did. I stopped using the starter ball almost right away. I left the irons for last. I started with the Taylor made sim irons. I progessed from there.

Guess what I am trying to say is that for me getting away from the starter equipment was key. Using those clubs make it much harder to progess quickly. So the Titliest irons, I'm sure are decent and an upgrade from the starter irons. It can't hurt.