Forums

Help › Forums

Tournament Green Speeds

rated by 0 users
Wed, Jul 24 2019 8:41 PM (5 replies)
  • Tow2nd2none
    1 Posts
    Mon, Jul 22 2019 12:09 PM

Does everyone in a tournament play on the same green speeds? I'm currently an amateur, have the starter clubs and ball but on the 12.0 speed greens it's nearly impossible to get shots to hold, which makes scoring near impossible. For reference I was shooting -4 to +2 on 18 but now have a hard time breaking 85. Suggestions? I was hoping to win some tournaments to get credits to buy clubs but that path is looking increasingly unlikely.

• TopShelf2010
    10,879 Posts
    Mon, Jul 22 2019 4:31 PM

• alosso
    21,028 Posts
    Mon, Jul 22 2019 9:44 PM

Tow2nd2none:
    Does everyone in a tournament play on the same green speeds?
    Yes they do.

It's good to mind some differences in tournaments:

- regular WGT tournaments are separated by tier, and each tier plays it's own tees and green speed. For Amateurs, it is front tees and Standard speed, IIRC.

Weekly or monthly tournaments are among these.

- some special tournaments, as the VUSO (virtual US Open) are played tierless, i.e. all players in the same competition. These usually are set up for the higher tiers, that is back tees and high green speeds.

- CC tournaments are tierless, unless limited in participating tiers. The conditions are arbitrary, as set up by the creator. This includes ONE green speed, while the tee boxes may be set up "standard", which means varying between tiers.

In general, it's advisable to check the green speed on the first green.

Tow2nd2none:
    I'm currently an amateur, have the starter clubs and ball but on the 12.0 speed greens it's nearly impossible to get shots to hold, which makes scoring near impossible.
    You'd have to adapt your strategy, and consider to make some wedges your prime purchasing goal - L38 for the ATVs is near!