Forums

Help › Forums

PIN HUNTING

rated by 0 users
Mon, Feb 4 2019 4:38 AM (6 replies)
  • MCH2
    36 Posts
    Sat, Feb 2 2019 7:01 PM

On most approach shots I'm usually looking to hole out from near 120 yards or less without regard for the best leave / easiest follow up putt.  The majority of the time, I can leave my approach (at these distances) within 5 to 7 feet of the pin.  Of course there are many variables to this statement, e.g., high winds, severe elevation changes, dangerous greens and putting confidence may affect my decision to go for it or not.

What is your strategy or thoughts on this.

• Robert1893
    7,664 Posts
    Sat, Feb 2 2019 7:49 PM

Deleted. Thought better of it. Sorry about that. 

• mega1byte
    768 Posts
    Sun, Feb 3 2019 5:02 AM

Hi MCH2

By all means I am no expert, but from reading a lot of the write-ups in the forums I find once I am in a position to reach the green I switch to view the green under a pitch setup and look at the slopes of the green, usually a up hill putt will give the best shot for sinking the ball for a bird or if lucky enough for an eagle.

It seems with most of the greens being below the hole is best.

I'm sure others have different ideas on how to setup the putt shot from the approach, I hope this helps.

NOW if your looking to just hole the shot out then reverse it and look at the shot on the high side of the hole to drift down to it.

Your stats do show your better at holing a shot out than i am, I've only done it 62 times. 

Hope all this helps.

Mega1byte

• TopShelf2010
    10,880 Posts
    Sun, Feb 3 2019 8:30 AM

• BPeterson8256
    2,907 Posts
    Sun, Feb 3 2019 9:57 AM

MCH2:

On most approach shots I'm usually looking to hole out from near 120 yards or less without regard for the best leave / easiest follow up putt.  

What is your strategy or thoughts on this.