Forums

Help › Forums

the next step

rated by 0 users
Sat, Oct 10 2009 12:19 PM (5 replies)
  • amorgan1006
    1 Posts
    Thu, Oct 8 2009 12:52 PM

I'm looking for some experienced players to give me some advice. I started playing golf this summer. I took a few lessons, bought a $400 starter set of clubs, played about 15 times and have now "found my swing". My gme has come along pretty well and last week I played my best game yet (a clean 90 on a par 71 course).

I gave up on the whippy and "tinky" started driver, woods and hybrids in August and bought a Taylor Made "Burner" driver and one decent Cleveland hybrid. My long game got better right away.

I've come to the point where I think the irons need to be upgraded. I've played with others that are using better irons and noticed the difference in distance for the same iron selection.

I'm kind of overwhelmed by all of the choices out there. I don't want to put my faith in a store salesman. But I basically have an unlimited budget and complete ignorance on the subject. If anyone can offer some helpful suggestions I'd appreciate it! 

• Snaike
    3,678 Posts
    Thu, Oct 8 2009 1:07 PM

Find a golf professional in your area...  perhaps the one(s) you took lessons from and ask them to recommend a quality fitter.  As a matter of fact, get two.  Most quality fitters don't work for a specific brand and can not only get you the right brand of club but the right type (for your swing) as well.

Most pro-shops will have someone they use (at reasonable courses).

It's best to stay away from "Sporting Goods" stores etc...

And, when someone starts ranting and raving about how good "X clubs" are, remember this:  What's good for everyone else may not be good for you.

Peace. 

• Soulcatcher
    1,970 Posts
    Thu, Oct 8 2009 1:20 PM

amorgan1006: