Forums

Help › Forums

WGT check your calculations

Thu, Mar 15 2018 4:20 PM (10 replies)
  • PAGES
  • n2nick0103
    7 Posts
    Thu, Nov 9 2017 9:07 PM

I have been playing for about 3 or 4 years now.  I enjoy it.  although I have a big question that has happened several times now.

I was on the 9th hole on St. Andrews,  I had a 13 to 15 mph wind at my back straight wind.  I ajusted for wind speed and height of the shot.  I lined up my shot and I hit the ding.  I lined it up just right of the hazards to the left.  So the ball should have hit just before the green.  as I said before... I hit the ding and it is my understanding that if I hit the ding the ball should come very close to the arrow point.  I did every thing there was to do as per the instructions as I understand them.  I lost my ball in the hazard on the right.  The ball didn't go out of bounds it just disappeared.  I then took another shoot with the same line up.  I hit the ball on the ding.... the ball landed in the sand trap 4 ft or more from the arrow I line up on.  

I hit the ding twice and with the back wind of 13 to 15 mph directly indication behind me it should not have landed in the hazard.  I believe someone should check the Algorythm of this latest upgrade.  This has happened several times to me and I don't believe first I should have lost my ball and second I should have ended up in the hazard and miss my par chance at the end of the game.  There is something wrong and I would like to know if your people will at least check into it.

Nick Nichols

• keidan
    311 Posts
    Fri, Nov 10 2017 7:24 PM

I am not too surprised that you can get this type of result occasionally (or as you put it several times) on a ding.  With a strong tailwind sending a drive 300+ yards you can get significant side to side variation helped by wind speed, distance travelled, club precision and a particular hole's sensitivity to side wind.