Forums

Help › Forums

Equipment advice

Tue, Apr 10 2018 9:24 PM (11 replies)
  • PAGES
  • FriendWhiskers
    4 Posts
    Mon, Oct 16 2017 9:27 AM
    Hello all, There is a lot of fantastic advice in this forum and I am hoping to get some input on my current situation. At the moment I am a Level 59 Tour Pro - avg. score 69.64. My bag contains- Driver: WGT Pro Driver 3W: L30 TM R11 Hybrid: stock Irons: stock Wedges: L14 TM - 60 & 54 Putter: stock I am considering upgrading either my driver or my irons - at this point I can only afford one upgrade (2,700 credits currently). I am considering the L55 TM M1 driver (slower meter cousin of the highly praised L48 TM driver) or the L59 Ping irons. My gut is leaning towards the driver at the moment. While it would be great to have more consistent approach shots that check up on the greens I think the added distance off the tee would be helpful for scoring on the longer par 4s. My short game is generally good and I can make up for a few missed greens here and there. Anyway, just looking for some input. Thanks for your help! -Whiskers
  • HalHoff
    813 Posts
    Mon, Oct 16 2017 7:49 PM

The level 59 Ping irons will serve you well til you reach the level 85 Callaways. Wedges are the next most important clubs as those are your scoring clubs. Level 50ish Max wedges work great until you reach the level 80ish Clevelands. 60-80-100 distance increment is what I recommend and have had the 60-75-90 also. Learn the punch shot with them. Don't need a hybrid.  Take all your clubs to the practice course and know what each will do at 100, 97 and 95 percent both with no spin and full back spin. That will dial your game in. You won't need a Driver til they move your tees back at Legend when you move to the parking lot tees. 

• craaaaaaaaze8
    458 Posts
    Mon, Oct 16 2017 8:45 PM