As I said, these extra influences on average leave a lot of questions unanswered to us players.
The FAQ statement apparently(!) covers only part of the story. Sometimes, after a few "counting" matches, they seemingly don't count. I haven't experienced that, but I've heard a few people talk about it here.
The other game, scores of 29 vs. 30, was MP strokeplay. In these games, a "winner" is proclaimed, but this has no impact at all after the game, no record, no award... Only the individual scores may count to the averages of each player but not the fact of a "win". Here, of course, 9 hole scores are doubled.