Help › Forums

Advice: Buyer plan for a beginner looking to improve

rated by 0 users
Wed, Apr 23 2014 12:45 PM (11 replies)
  • PAGES
  • dustons
    4 Posts
    Mon, Apr 21 2014 10:21 PM

Looking for a cost efficient way to be elite at the higher levels of this game. I recognize that the game, at some point, requires you to purchase quality clubs. Is my best move to wait until I'm a tour pro to upgrade clubs? Any advice would be much appreciated. 

Best,

Austin

• mukbrain
    225 Posts
    Tue, Apr 22 2014 5:50 PM

For now, you don't need to upgrade anything as of now except for the wedges and perhaps putter. I'd get the 2 L18 Ping Wedges and the L19 Spider Putter if you follow my advice. Full set-wise, the L32 R11 set is good, though its meter is fast for newer players (3.5). Otherwise I'd wait until L41/42 for the Ping Wedges (52,58,64), then get the G20 set at L59, removing the hybrid to make room for 3 wedges. It won't be far away if you play a lot every day or once a day (88k XPs), if you play as often as you have (started 4/12).

• dustons
    4 Posts
    Tue, Apr 22 2014 7:56 PM

When would you buy a driver or putter? What would you recommend as a good, cost efficient ones? I'll wait till the 40s and 50s to move on wedges and clubs. May as well do the same for the putter and driver. Let me know.

Austin

• SweetiePie
    4,925 Posts
    Tue, Apr 22 2014 8:00 PM

If you can emotionally handle it, the more foundation you can aquire using all of the free stuff will serve you as long as you are here. If you can play well with the freebies, learning the chip, pitch, punch & flop, as well as putting avenue; either direct ding hits or the early hit / late hit method, the new stuff will be even more of a helpful pleasure. Time is on your side.

~SP~ 

• ZioMio
    4,680 Posts
    Tue, Apr 22 2014 8:21 PM

Learn to play the free ball ... with all the credits you will save, the better clubs you will be able to buy. Clubs don't wear out, balls do.

• tigerfan1506