Forums

Help › Forums

How do you hit the ding consistently?

Wed, Feb 19 2020 1:05 PM (54 replies)
  • Chinajohn
    1,190 Posts
    Fri, Mar 8 2013 8:10 PM

Ok, I'm not great at this game but I'm not a newbie either.

I've read some players saying they hit the ding 80%+ and tbh I'm dumbfounded. In an 18 hole round lets for ease of maths say 36 drives and approach shots, of those 36 on average I ding perhaps 4 or 5. How do you possibly ding 25+.

My (obviously flawed) system is I stare at the meter until it gets to about half way then refocus on the ding line, and by the time my eyes have focussed it's press time and if I get that right I (sometimes) get the ding.

Do you have a 'system', if so what is it? Any help would be most appreciated.

P.S. This is in no way an accusation of any kind ref dinging, just an honest request to see if I can replicate some better methodology.

• alanti
    10,564 Posts
    Fri, Mar 8 2013 8:33 PM

LOL I am eagerly awaiting peoples methods here as I too have a pretty poor ding rate.

What does help is having clubs that have an even swing meter speed. Also some find the slow meter balls are the answer, and I often use them BUT I often click way to early. A good way to simulate a slow meter ball is practice with the starters, then revert to your normal ball - usually works forme.

But my method is changing depending on my sucess rate, usually pull make the power to the desired level, hold for a secong or two, then race my mouse back to the ding line. If I am clicking early or late I actually adjust my chair a little left or right so instrad of my eye being in line, is a little left or right.Some days I just cant get within a mile of the ding - those days nothing I do helps lol.

• cchristi42
    57 Posts
    Fri, Mar 8 2013 8:44 PM