Forums

Help › Forums

TheReluctant Master

rated by 0 users
Fri, Mar 26 2010 8:21 PM (7 replies)
  • Rowdee
    17 Posts
    Thu, Mar 25 2010 3:36 PM

Well, yesterday a had a banner day on Andrews. Posted a -6 and a nice 129 yd. hole approach. It was pretty cool and a lot of fun...BUT... I made Master in doing so and it was like being a total beginner again. The first thing I had to do was say goodbye to my beloved V2 driver and get one that hit longer. Big difference in hitting from the master tees. For me the game was ....hit my drive and then my lob wedge onto the green and ...well... Now, I can barely make a birdie. My driver demands perfect strikes. My approaches are now from 100+ yards so it´s difficult to use that spin to control the ball like I could with my wedges. Well, it is just a game, but I have really enjoyed learning and advancing till now. How about a driving range?????? At least you could get a little used to the faster meter on the advanced clubs. I am 54 and BELIEVE me, I just don´t have those reflexes anymore. 35 years in construction and my hands barely scratch my ass without missing!!! Anyway, just wanted to piss and moan about my SUCCESS.

• danohi50
    1,020 Posts
    Thu, Mar 25 2010 5:23 PM

Congratulations on making master..And now sing the WGT blues!

I have had the same problem, but low and behold you will get your game back. It will take you a month or 2 and some master equipment is in order.

I highly recommend you stick with clubs that have the same meter speed and slow it down with Tour GI-SD balls.

Most of the better players are using the r-9 driver and the G10's for everything else.

Also pay attention to your wedges. Drop your hybrid and pick up an extra wedge. The 64 degree jobs will transform your short game. Pick wedges that give you a nice spread of yardage selections..

Stick with it. You will soon be having fun again I promise.

• ghettocop1
    259 Posts
    Thu, Mar 25 2010 5:26 PM