Forums

Help › Forums

Re: How to you advance tiers?

rated by 0 users
Tue, Feb 23 2010 11:47 PM (6 replies)
  • SystemCrash
    209 Posts
    Mon, Feb 22 2010 1:18 PM

I wonder if someone knows about the 'mechanical' or 'logical' behind this. What is the decisive step that decides what tier you belong from now on. I read the FAQ but found it nowhere. Perhaps WGT wants to keep it secret, after all it's part of the surprise!

I was wondering because I moved from Hacker to Pro within a week without improving my play a single notch! I still play a bogey on every single hole at Bethpage but guess what? I'm a pro now!!

I noticed that it happened the day after I decided to buy a new driver and putter...(Things that make you go hmmm!)

In a nutshell, is it related to your score, your caddy bag or the number of balls you have hit? The first one would make more sense.

Also... is it possible to retrograde?

Thanks all

Rob

• neildiamond11790
    1,115 Posts
    Mon, Feb 22 2010 1:48 PM

no, you cant go backwards in tiers.

its based on your average score, and possibly some accomplishments.  Basically under 66 somewhere is to get to master. 

they keep it secret so people dont sandbag as much.  you will hit pro sooner or later anyway right?  so just keep it going.

• ghettocop1
    259 Posts
    Mon, Feb 22 2010 6:36 PM

I wish you could go backwards in tiers.  I felt the same way you did, and still do to some extent.  I made Pro at around 75.00 I believe.  Got much worse for a while, kept at it, got a little better, then worse again, now I'm pretty static, and am fine with never making master.  I understand it is worse than the jump from amateur to pro.  If thats the case, I can do without the challenge.

• woodrowwilson
    22 Posts
    Mon, Feb 22 2010 7:38 PM

It's definitely score. The sandbagging thing is the only reason I'm aware of. You tend to take a down slide after moving up a tier, so I can understand the reasoning.