Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Golf clubs we love...in real life

Wed, Dec 16 2009 3:24 AM (5 replies)
  • SweetiePie
    4,925 Posts
    Sat, Dec 12 2009 2:33 PM

When I started playing at age 7, I was given a Tommy Armour, 1950 black and white insert, eye-o-matic, oil hardened 4 wood, cut down, along with an old reuter jr bullseye putter, cut down and a MacGreagor VIP 5 iron. With a Dad club collector and three older brothers, I always received the hand-me-downs. Some things stay. I still play with the persimmon 4 wood with a dynamic S-100 shaft. Can't hit it an inch over 190 yrds or an inch under 180 yrds, but always arrow straight. Still use the bullseye, lengthened, but original shaft. And my irons are m-31 Mizunos, because my older eye still sees the clean line of the VIP. I wonder who else holds on to the past. 

• danohi50
    1,020 Posts
    Sat, Dec 12 2009 2:55 PM

Nice post S.P.!

I started to play around 13. The first set my dad bought me  was a Patty Berg set...before you laugh at that, they fit me at that age far better than the Jr clubs at the time..I liked them so well I played with them well into my early 20's...by then i realized the shafts were way to soft for my club head speed and I then bought some titelist clubs and game on from there.

My favorite club was a 4 $ putter i got from a kmart cheapy bin..ive never putted with anythinbg better. Unfortunatly  my son broke the head off of it. (pot metal) and ive never putted as well since...ah nostalgia.

• donsprintr
    2,063 Posts
    Sat, Dec 12 2009 5:15 PM