Forums

Help › Forums

Re: How good/bad is the starter putter

Wed, Jun 3 2020 8:56 PM (7 replies)
  • papapotato
    120 Posts
    Tue, Jun 2 2020 6:02 AM

Greetings, I have been playing the game for a couple of months and moving up and upgrading clubs along the way. Am I limited with the starter putter versus what's available or is it good enough to use at the higher tiers? Just curious if I could be sinking many more putts with an upgrade.

• alosso
    21,028 Posts
    Tue, Jun 2 2020 10:08 PM

IMHO, the Starter putter is the best club in that set. The only flaw that I remember is on the "balance" side: It strays quite a lot on long putts. I've used mine as long as I was comfortable with it, about L55.

Before buying a custom putter, you should know which is favourable for you as a "ding" or "off ding" putter.

You might want to wait for the next free rental days...

• papapotato
    120 Posts
    Wed, Jun 3 2020 6:06 AM

Thanks. I'm a "ding" putter, although I don't understand why some models would favor ding or off ding strategies. 

• alosso
    21,028 Posts
    Wed, Jun 3 2020 8:43 AM

Good for you!

Concerning your question: Better putters have higher forgiveness which compensates deviations from the ding. This goes against off ding putting which is better with low forgiveness where the putter shows a stronger reaction on voluntarily missing the ding.

• 1irony
    415 Posts
    Wed, Jun 3 2020 10:04 AM

Since you are at L67 at the time writing, I would strongly recommend waiting until L70 and buy the Scotty Cameron at that level. It is by leaps and bounds the best bang for the buck putter-wise as it is 95% as good as the top putters and 50% of the price. You could definitely get away with using it forever.

Cheers,

Darren

• Robert1893
    7,651 Posts
    Wed, Jun 3 2020 11:07 AM

1irony: