Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Yardage Inconsistencies With Paid For Balls!!

rated by 0 users
Fri, Apr 26 2019 7:36 AM (11 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Fortgrange
    2 Posts
    Thu, Apr 25 2019 7:55 AM

First post so be gentle (-:

I know game inconsistencies are well discussed on these forums and I’ve had my fair share since I started playing. For the most part I take it on the chin and accept that the game is a bit of fun.

But I recently had 2 episodes with a sleeve of balls within a couple of rounds that left me slightly miffed to say the least. Both at Wolf Creek off the tee. One was on one of the dog legs where anything under 265 yards or over 315 yards could result in trouble, plenty of margin for error I thought, imagine my horror when it carried 375 yards and resulted in a lost ball. 2 rounds later standing on the 18th tee with the same wind 8 to 10mph left to right, more horror ensued when the carry reduced to 240 and dropped the ball right in the middle of the water in front of the green!!

I can practice as much as I like but no amount of practice will ever result in a good outcome with a 55% variation in distance with the same shot under the same conditions.

Call me a cynic but it does seem to be more than just a coincidence.

The result is I try and struggle on with the free balls which just make the game so much harder!!

PS. The 240 carry was dinged and the 375 was just off, which makes it even more confusing.

• SlickHunter
    1,034 Posts
    Thu, Apr 25 2019 11:08 AM

Fortgrange:

I know game inconsistencies are well discussed on these forums and I’ve had my fair share since I started playing. For the most part I take it on the chin and accept that the game is a bit of fun.