Forums

Help › Forums

Re: WGT Free Golf Balls

rated by 0 users
Wed, Apr 10 2019 5:25 AM (5 replies)
  • Steve915
    68 Posts
    Sun, Apr 7 2019 10:39 PM

Is it possible to become a very good player using the free stock balls provided by WGT?

I used to pay for golf balls, and I didn't mind losing them, but it burned me up when a ball was taken out of play.

I've been using the free balls for a few years and I've gotten used to them.

• SimonTheBeetle
    3,504 Posts
    Mon, Apr 8 2019 12:09 AM

That is what I had been trying to achieve, then I gave up.

It is possible theoretically if you know where to land your ball with the full understanding of all the contours, slopes, characteristics of every single green featured in this game. Otherwise, it becomes virtually a mission impossible 'cause as we all know, the faster the greens, the harder it becomes to make the rock (the free ball) bite the surface preventing any unwanted roll away from the pin. Based on my personal experience, one can deal and submit decent scores* up to legend tier with the freebies but anything beyond that point, I'd say you're being too ambitious. (It really depends on each individual but for me, anything lower than 59 is a decent score. Again, each of your own...)

Another downside of it is the distance. You will notice with the freebie some holes cannot be covered (reached) within the GIR number even with a tailwind which can be very frustrating and devastating psychologically.

This is my two cents on it... Happy hitting and good luck.

Simon

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Mon, Apr 8 2019 5:40 AM

Steve915:
    Is it possible to become a very good player using the free stock balls provided by WGT?

That would depend on your definition of "very good." Without the ability to control your landings on the greens you're going to have to play an extremely smart, careful game and figure out how to run up to pins, not to mention being able to putt.