Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Putting Tip: Distance Control

Mon, Jan 2 2023 5:14 PM (1,173 replies)
  • WOLF523
    55 Posts
    Fri, Feb 27 2015 5:23 AM

I have the most problems with short putting from a few inches to a couple of feet. How to aim the fleche? Even with the right distance the ball passes slightly left or right from the hole or passes over it. I like playing, as a beginner I am doin ok on the fairways but putting is killing me. I appreciate all your help, thanks in advance.

• SweetiePie
    4,925 Posts
    Fri, Feb 27 2015 12:58 PM

WOLF523:

I have the most problems with short putting from a few inches to a couple of feet. How to aim the fleche? Even with the right distance the ball passes slightly left or right from the hole or passes over it. I like playing, as a beginner I am doin ok on the fairways but putting is killing me. I appreciate all your help, thanks in advance.

Well Wolf, this scenero is pretty common at first but can be handled quickly by most by being aggressive to always hit past the hole a foot or two while hitting short or past the white line to fool any break....giant break ? use a giant early or late hit  ;-}

• ScottHope
    10,086 Posts
    Fri, Feb 27 2015 1:10 PM

There is no magic answer Wolf, but hopefully the more you play, the better you will become. Experience helps a lot so don't expect too much too soon.

• fitzroy1965
    337 Posts
    Sat, Feb 28 2015 2:11 AM

distance control on putts is key,very hard to master esp. on steep downhill putts. you must take an extra % off downhill putts and only practice and experience [and a good memory]  will help.

• WOLF523
    55 Posts
    Sat, Feb 28 2015 2:25 AM

Thank you all guys, if I understand right here are no practice fields like a driving range, out of bunkers or putting greens. Have to practice by playing, which hopefully does'nt mess up my scoring average. Still wondering, how I can miss putts from 0,8 ft. but will practice.