Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Need help tweaking setup (L63 player)

rated by 0 users
Fri, Aug 17 2018 7:56 PM (5 replies)
  • SlimStoney
    10 Posts
    Sun, Aug 12 2018 2:29 AM

I'm a L63 Tour Pro, been playing for over 3 weeks, and play on mobile.  Since I started playing this game, I've been watching the ads for credits, and I've done a decent amount of research about club suggestions.  (I also play golf casually IRL)

My purchase history:

• Around L10, I purchased the WGT Starter Plus Set (along with the WGT Tour Starter Wedges), then I bought the WGT Pro 9.5 Driver for the added distance after I realized I tiered up too fast.  
    • From there, I waited to make any upgrades until the L55 TaylorMade M1 9.0 Driver (which I love).  Then (still at L55) I bought the new L51 Callaway Rogue Sub Zero 3 Wood (which I have mixed feelings about) as well as three L27/29/31 Cleveland 588 56/60/64 degree wedges (which I think I like).
    • I used my Starter Plus irons until L59 when I immediately bought the PING G25 irons.
    • Haven't made a putter upgrade.
    • Was playing with the basic rock before my upgrades at L55; thereafter, I've played either GI-S or GI2-S.

My play-style, strengths, weaknesses

• I am a slightly better player than my stats indicate since (for a while) I didn't notice apparel bonuses were negated in tournament play; I was consistently switching back and forth from tournaments to head-to-heads and (for days) could not figure out why my iron distance control was totally off and why puts seemed off.
    • Putting is probably the strongest part of my game (I'm a "ding putter", use the aim) followed by my short game (but I overuse/over-rely on the flop shot).  My iron play and driving are average.
    • I play on mobile and don't have the greatest reflexes so I often miss the ding and sometimes by a fair amount.  I think I need high meter speed and forgiveness.
    • I have gotten good at reading wind, elevation, lies, surfaces, etc.