Floridiot ... I drive southeast Florida roads daily with these folks

• Bowl64
    3,085 Posts
    Thu, Sep 14 2017 9:06 AM

How about those creeps who left their pets behind! :(((

• gatorman66
    307 Posts
    Sat, Sep 16 2017 6:06 AM

I live in central Florid and it's day 7 with no power or water.....we got hammered

• Bowl64
    3,085 Posts
    Sat, Sep 16 2017 10:35 AM

Can`t imagine what you`re going through, hang in there and i really hope you get the help needed.

Bjorn

• 77Rachel
    1,590 Posts
    Wed, Sep 20 2017 7:55 AM

Wowsers.

As a Miami resident, I can say that Irma SUCKED.  This was my first big storm, and like a lot of less experienced people, I figured it was just a storm.  Category whatever, lol.

Big mistake.  I misjudged it badly.  This was a major event.  I live in an area that was issued a mandatory evacuation in Coconut Grove, but the storm was weakening, and we only were getting hit by the outer bands.  Riding it out shouldnt be a problem, right??   Pfffft. Oops.

Wandering out after the storm, I noticed a particularly large palm tree on top of my truck.  Gonna need a new truck, as it was totaled.  Then I noticed a 50 foot sailboat in my backyard. I have no boat and I live over a quarter mile from the nearest marina.

Its just the outer bands, right?   Ugh.   Little did I know, the outer bands on the dirty side bring tornadoes. 

9 days without power in the summer in Miami SUCKS.  After the first couple, at least some stores reopened, leaving us the ability to cool off a bit in their A/C.

My family is all safe, and our stuff can be fixed or replaced.  The owner of the boat says he will rent a crane whenever he can find one available to get it out of my backyard.  All will be okay in time.

I truly feel for those that got hit worse, and for those in Maria's path.

As for me, next time I will evacuate.

• phred952
    2,714 Posts
    Wed, Sep 20 2017 8:16 PM

Rachel,

I'm glad you and your family are OK.  It could have been much worse.