Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Putter advice

Fri, Sep 8 2017 8:20 AM (8 replies)
  • dstarrsfan
    16 Posts
    Thu, Sep 7 2017 10:29 AM

I feel like I'm decent in most aspects of this game except putting. I've played quite a few rounds but still have so many putts that just burn the edge. What would help the most a putter with more precision or more forgiveness?

• Jimbog1964
    8,378 Posts
    Thu, Sep 7 2017 10:35 AM

No as regards your conclusion IMO.....................

Your ADP is so shocking it renders any chance of 1 putts remote.

IMO probably want a shorter wedge and then look at threads as to how to play that.  No point saying more until I know if that rings a bell.

• dstarrsfan
    16 Posts
    Thu, Sep 7 2017 10:43 AM

Jimbog1964:

IMO probably want a shorter wedge and then look at threads as to how to play that.  No point saying more until I know if that rings a bell.

I'm not a pro like you and have no idea what you mean. Your reply seems a little harsh though.

• dedBuNNy
    1,919 Posts
    Thu, Sep 7 2017 11:12 AM

Basically what Jim's saying, and as one of the better putters in the game he certainly knows his ***, your average distance to the pin is 22ft... You need to work on that stat, get better with decent wedge work around the green and approaches. 

Having to putt from 22' out all the time is pretty brutal, better putter isn't what you want to look at at this stage. Putting from 10' is far better. '-)

Jim has a colorful way of replying, best interest though... and never really off. 

• Jimbog1964
    8,378 Posts
    Thu, Sep 7 2017 11:22 AM

dstarrsfan:

Jimbog1964:

I'm not a pro like you and have no idea what you mean. Your reply seems a little harsh though.

I sent you a friend request mate..........DB reminded me I can be too colourful:).........You want to work at it hit me up for a chat:)...Cheers

• alosso
    21,034 Posts
    Thu, Sep 7 2017 12:19 PM

dstarrsfan:
    What would help [...]?