Forums

Help › Forums

Re: St Andrews #14 ?Question?

rated by 0 users
Sun, Feb 19 2017 4:07 AM (7 replies)
  • BPeterson8256
    2,903 Posts
    Sat, Feb 18 2017 10:20 AM

I am still very new to this game. As I try to improve, I am always looking for better ways to play. Having moved to the back tees, I find that I can't reach the fairway with my 2nd shot if it is playing into the wind at St Andrews #14. The right thing to do would be to lay up way back I am guessing. I wanted to try to get closer, so I played to the fairway to the left of 14. I am 99% sure that I didn't over play it, but it gave me the dreaded "Out Of Bounds". Is that a play that they don't have available in this game? ...or did I just take it that way too far? Any suggestions on the best way to play this in to the wind? (note: if you were in that fairway, and I hit you with my ball, I apologize.)

• Beryman
    9,084 Posts
    Sat, Feb 18 2017 3:30 PM

the fairway on the left is playable but a very thin playable area...playing straight and ending in the rough isn`t a bad place if you have learned to hit decent from the rough

• Robert1893
    7,651 Posts
    Sat, Feb 18 2017 3:59 PM

@BPeterson8256

Laying up is certainly an option, even though it gives you a long approach and probably takes birdie off the table.

But with your driver and 3 wood, you should be able to get over the bunkers and at least into the rough on the other side, even if you don't quite make it to the fairway. The rough on just the other side of those bunkers is not too bad. (See image below. I'm referring to where the aim marker is from that screen shot.)

By the way, there's a bit of down slope just after the bigger bunker and to the right. If you put some top spin on your 3 wood, many times it will bounce through that rough. Regardless, that's not too tough of a third shot from around there. You should still be able to get it close, giving you a shot at birdie. 

• Robert1893
    7,651 Posts
    Sat, Feb 18 2017 4:34 PM