Re: quitters

Sun, Apr 24 2011 7:05 AM (53 replies)
  • mantis0014
    8,946 Posts
    Sun, Apr 24 2011 12:59 AM

grady3rd:

x1524807:

I never quit until I started playing alternate

You pick a partner. Says he is a master with a 65 avg, and you think that this will make a good partner. Then you start the game, and every shot you take is out of the rough or the sand, and you begin to think that this guy is to heavy to carry around for 9 holes, so you quit.

One thing I do is tell the fool that I cannot continue playing from a part of a golf course that I have never seen before, and then I quit, and then I go back and forfeit the game

Well there you go.  Congratulations, YOU are the perfect example of a poor sport.  You pick a partner and then when you realize that you might not have a chance to win due to his/her poor play, you quit the game.  Every game has 2 possible outcomes, you either win or you lose.  If you can't accept that some of your attempts will result in a loss, then maybe you should just play alone.  And believe me, I know exactly what you mean about being on the short end of the stick sometimes.  I've had partners (they're usually Tour Pro's with little experience, such as yourself) that not only played poorly and mishit shots, they attempted shots that had no chance of success to begin with.  I try to suffer it with some dignity and while you won't find me publicly humiliating someone for a bad play, I might just stay quiet and play on without comment. 

Attitudes like yours are an indication that you haven't yet attained the maturity needed to persevere in the face of adversity, and rather than play the cards you're dealt, you choose to throw them away and start all over with a fresh set. Shame on you for your poor sportsmanship, and for thinking that you're such an elite player that you can't have your time wasted with an inferior partner.  

Wow...This is a very good reply Grady...Well done m8!! :)